A Taste of Art

I have always loved contemporary art. I do not really know how to explain it, which makes sense since genuine taste seems to rely on inherent emotions. If you are a dealer or collector more interested in the market values and investment opportunities in works of art, then I can see why your “taste” might be directed by something else.

 

Obviously I am still figuring out my taste in art. I am more drawn to the 20th century than I am to the 17th century. This is attributed to my lack of knowledge on the history. I have never taken a formal art history course. I do not think I can contextualize the images I see because I do not have the critical knowledge, nor am I bystander of that time. Contemporary art is so appealing to me because it is the now, and I am the now.

 

Contemporary art versus traditional art is not an appropriate way to narrowing down your taste. I need to see more and learn more. I know this. What I am wondering is how you find your taste from your collective knowledge? From all my summer readings I have tried to pick up a few key statements that allude to this mystery.

 

Some collectors use their emotions and intuitions to guide their likes and dislikes. My further inception to this question of finding ones taste, is how do you know what you are really feeling? This is probably requires more psychological reasoning than I can supply. When I look at art that I like, its great. I question though, at least for contemporary art, if I like two pieces what would make me want to buy one piece more than another? I know, emotions, but the answer does not satisfy me. I think there is a critical expertise associated with taste that is comprised of years of experience and theoretical knowledge. This might all seem obvious to everyone else, but I am looking to develop my taste. I need more than the advice, go with your gut because my gut just does not know what to go with yet.

 

Reading over this I sound pretty angsty. I need to take the classes, see all that I can, and my taste will hopefully come naturally. It seems that taste comes with time and education, I am not going to just wake up with it on a Sunday morning.

Leave a comment